Lost and Found event

The Odenwald Association and the Falkirk District Twinning Association took part in ‘Language Lost and Found’, an educational event highlighting the benefits of learning a new language. The event took place on Saturday, November 18, 2017. The programme included a Gaelic Bookbug session for small children, entertainment from Falkirk Junior Gaelic choir and representatives fromContinue reading “Lost and Found event”

German Consul speaks to Association

The Odenwald Association was privileged to have Jens-Peter Voss, German Consul General, as guest speaker on Tuesday, November 14, 2017. The audience included local councillors and representatives from the West Lothian Twinning Association. Mr. Voss began by telling us about the work of the Consulate in Edinburgh, which is one of only two in theContinue reading “German Consul speaks to Association”

BSA Motorcycle Adventure

Elaine Mitchell, husband Andrew and friends enjoyed a trip through Germany. Elaine had a reunion with friends Jutta and Vroni who lived with Elaine in Falkirk for three months when undertaking work as student placements working with Falkirk Council.  Elaine’s report on the trip is published below, alongwith pictures from the trip. Following this year’s annualContinue reading “BSA Motorcycle Adventure”

Pumpkin fun at meeting

The Odenwald Association kicked off the new session with a “Kürbisfest”, a  Pumpkin celebration as is enjoyed in the Odenwaldkreis.  Members were invited to bring along their carved pumpkins to be entered into a competition.    Members also contributed Pumpkin themed refreshments including Pumpkin Pie, Pumpkin Risotto and other savouries flavoured with the luscious pulp. Continue reading “Pumpkin fun at meeting”

Twinning visit to the Odenwaldkreis

Odenwald Association (OA) members have returned from another fun filled trip to our twinning area, the Odenwaldkreis, with 2 couples staying in homes of friends and 4 others staying in Michelstadt at the familiar Michelstädter Hof.  (Scroll down for a gallery of images from the trip.) While an outline programme had been agreed with SchottlandContinue reading “Twinning visit to the Odenwaldkreis”

Election of office bearers and committee

The following office bearers and committee members have been elected to serve the Odenwald Association. Office Bearers Chair – Walter SimmsVice-Chair – Gray AllanSecretary – Anne SimmsTreasurer – Charlie Tibbles   Executive Committee Walter Simms and Gray Allan are automatically on the Executive Committee – everyone else was elected: Andy Christie, Joe Detlaff,  Lynda Kenna, EmmaContinue reading “Election of office bearers and committee”